top of page
Search

Kura Sushi in Stonestown: Is it worth the 6 hour wait?

2021 November 15th

Blog by Maelynn Le

Picture by Maelynn Le: Yellow Fin Tuna Nigiri


Kura Sushi Bar is a tech-based and interactive Japanese restaurant that first started in 2008. As time went on, Kura found ways to improve this sushi revolving concept by using advanced technology, nice quality ingredient, and affordable prices to create a special revolving bar experience. Kura Revolving Sushi Bar has locations across 12 states in the United States. They are known to be the most popular sushi chain in the United States because of the revolving bar experience that you typically don't find in other sushi restaurants. Because it's super popular, a lot of people have been experiencing massive wait times up to 6 hours. The real question is it worth waiting 6 hours?


On Saturday, October 16th, I was invited to their grand opening and was able to try their revealing bar experience at Stonestown Mall in San Francisco, CA. They sit you down pretty quickly, and you order what you want and get it to you fast. Each plate costs about $3.50 and you can get their udon, tempura, and desserts as well. Every 5 plates you dispose, a little animation pops up and plays you a scene. Every 15 plates, you get a free toy. Now, the real question that everyone has been dying to know: Is it worth a 6 hour wait time? I talked to a lot of people and they said it's a good experience to have, but it's not worth the massive wait time. People have said the sushi is good, but it's just average like what you would get at a mall. I agree that I would not wait 6 hours to do the experience. Luckily, I went to the grand opening and I got to experience it myself. I love the concept of using technology and seeing what sushi dishes they offer. I just picked up whatever I want and I just started eating from there. Their sushi tasted fresh and yummy but I do admit it, the sushi was just average. I personally think they are not trying to overcomplicate their flavors and keep it basic because everything moves so fast and it's just a nice sit-down place to start eating without having a massive wait time for your food to get out unless you order something else like udon or tempura. That is understandable; I do think they do a great job providing fast service for customers and I liked how the staff was very nice.


Overall, I recommend trying Kura revolving sushi bar at least once. I would go again if the wait time is shorter. My advice if you don't want to wait 6 hours, get to Stonestown Mall early and just sign your name as quickly as you can. They open at 11 so I would get there 30 mins ahead of time even if the mall itself is still close. If you prefer to dine in the evening, put your name in the afternoon so that when evening hits, it's your turn in line. Keep in mind, it's not always a 6 hour wait time. That is just approximately how long the wait is. You could be booted up by 2 hours if people don't show up, then you have a higher chance of getting seating sooner. Let me know your experiences!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page