top of page
Search

My Experience at Angler

Blog by: Maelynn Le

February 10, 2023

All photos were taken by Maelynn Le

Photo: Oysters and Caviar


I’m sure you all know by now when I SEA-FOOD, I eat it. When I saw posts about Angler on social media, you know I have to check it out! Angler is located in San Francisco at The Embarcadero near the Ferry Building. They have won several awards like James Beard and have earned one Michelin Star since 2019. I was very fortunate to check out one of the best restaurants in San Francisco as Angler has great quality of ingredients and their dishes are minimalist, but the flavors of each dishes are amazing.


Chef Adam Stacy (the executive chef) created the lunch and dinner menus that capture the modern rustic feel of Angler. Each dish is created with a variety of locally produced ingredients that are on the menu. The items themselves serve as the daily inspiration, articulating their natural flavors when they are prepared at their best. Angler take their time when they cook, as they make sure each dish is perfect and articulate. They collaborate with a limited number of farmers, ranchers, fishers, and hunters to identify where the best-quality local produces are at. All of the cooking takes place over an open wood fire in a fireplace that was created for Chef Skenes's special methodology, tools, and techniques for bringing out the greatest flavors in Angler’s products.

Photo: Bluefin tuna with rice cracker


I got the pleasure to dine and review the food at Angler. First off I want to say that each dish was made to perfection and the chefs took the time to make sure each dish was their best. I first had their oysters and caviar. When I put the caviar on the oyster, it was just a nice bite of freshness. The oysters were very fresh, salty, and have a nice mineral note as an after taste. The caviar was rich, fishy, and salty that paired with the oysters well. Overall, the oysters with caviar were so appetizing and the perfect way to start my meal.


Another dish I was fortunate to try was their bluefin tuna with tomato jelly and shiso With a rice cracker. Basically, there was blufin tuna at the bottom of the bowl, and the tomato jelly was on top. What was interesting was that the jelly was clear and it had a tomato taste to the jelly. It’s almost like the tomato was disguised but the actual flavor was there. You basically break the rice cracker and scoop a bit of the bluefin tuna onto the cracker. It’s like making a small bite for yourself which I thought it was a cool concept. The rice cracker had a nice crunchy salty flavor and that bluefin tuna with tomato jelly counteracted the saltiness of the cracker, giving the bite a nice fresh taste. The bluefin tuna itself had a salty, tart, and sweet flavor that was pleasant to my mouth. I think it is a great concept for customers because not only it’s hands on, but also it is also a nice starter dish to your meal.

Photo: Halibut Burger


I also tried the halibut burger and it has been one of the tastiest burgers I ever had. The Halibut burger is like that Nashville hot chicken sandwich y’all love with almost the same flavors. The burger had a nice crunch and the inside of the sandwich was moist. The sauce was a hit and I like the freshness of the lettuce and dressing to give the burger freshness. The flavors were mild bit the sandwich was pipping hot! This has been one of my favorite sandwiches of all-time as the flavors were bomb and the halibut was crunchy and moist.

Photo: Coconut Sorbet


After a great burger, fresh oysters, and a pleasant bluefin dish, it’s super nice to get this coconut sorbet. It’s a nice light dessert that had a great coconut flavor, it was smooth, and it’s not overally sweet. I love the presentation of the dessert because there is a real coconut inside the sorbet. It has a nice luscious flavor that screams eat me and it’s a great dessert to have after a great meal.


The food, service, and hospitality was definitely Michlien worthy. Great mannerism, presentation, and the restaurant had a nice rustic modern look. Thank you to Brent and Kayla who were my servers throughout my lunch and thank you to the chefs for this stunning meal! Angler is a must-try in San Francisco so make sure you check it out!


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page