top of page
Search

What I ate in Boston, MA

Blog by: Maelynn Le

6 January 2023

All photos were taken by Maelynn Le


I had the most WICKED trip to Boston, MA! Boston is the capital of Massachusetts and located east. It is known for having a rich culture and filled with many neighborhoods and great scenery. Boston was a beautiful historic city with many monuments, statues, parks, trails, and FOOD!!! I would describe the food culture as very open, diverse, very seafood foward (especially lobster), and historic as well. If you go to Boston, whatever restaurant you go to, there will be a lobster dish on almost every place you go to! I know a great stop if you are craving their main food that Boston is known for, lobster rolls and clam chowder. Here are the food places you MUST check out whenever you are in Boston.


  1. Boston Chowder and CO

Photo: Lobster Roll and Clam Chowder

I kicked off my trip by having this delicious Boston Lobster roll and clam chowder! Located inside the Quincy Market, there were so many food stands that my family and I saw. The one dish that we HAD to try (since it’s a well-known dish) is the famous Lobster Roll and Clam Chowda. This is the stable and MUST GET when you are in Boston! That buttery lobster roll was so rich and briny! It goes perfectly with that creamy clam chowder soup! There are probably other places with great lobster rolls but if you want a 101 on what food stand to get your lobster rolls, stop by Boston Chowda and Co at the Quincy Market! It was so WICKED!


2. Waku Waku Ramen

Photo: Vegetable miso ramen, Takoyaki, Okonmoyaki, Homemade kimchi

It’s getting so cold Boston that you need something to warm you up! How about Ramen? They are about to open their 2nd location in Harvard Square so if you live near Harvard, I recommend checking them out! I went to the one in Chinatown and I have to say, it’s a must try ramen shops in Boston. The ramen was very salty and flavorful! Nice chewy texture to the noodles and the broth had a nice kick too! I also love their okonmoyakai as well as it had a super nice umami savory flavor that I love so much! This modern ramen shop is the place to go if you are craving ramen! Congratulations Dixon (the owner) for the 2nd location!


3. Bao Bao Bakery

Photo: Pineapple bun with taro


I have an addiction of checking every single Chinatown each place has. Even though Boston has a small Chinatown, there are some great bakeries you should check out. One of the bakeries I went to is Bao Bao Bakery. The cashier asked me if I wanted something sweet or savory, I said sweet and reccomended me the pineapple bun with taro. I ended up getting it and I found the pineapple bun very flakey and buttery. Great texture and the taro filling was yummy. The subtle sweet and nutty flavor is what I’ve been looking for as the flavor combinationes worked well! I wish there was more taro filling because it was so yummy, I wanted more. Definitely a MUST-CHECK out bakery in Boston.



4. Jonquil’s Cafe and Bakery


Photo: Geometric Apple


I was putting up stories about Boston until one of my friends Sang reached out to me through Instagram. He suggested me to check out this bakery called Jonquil’s Cafe and Bakery, and reccomended me this geometric apple cheese cake. I was stunned by the flawless design of the apple. I had to check it out for myself. This was the most beautiful and most exquisite piece of cake art I ever witnessed. It even tasted as well as it looks too. It has a nice lucious cheesecake flavor with bits of apple cinnamon flavor filling, and a nice chocolate crust on the bottom. My FAVORITE dessert of all time now and the most prettiest dessert. It looks so real and all of their pastries are works of art. Please check them out.


5. Antico Pasta

Photo: Arancini (Rice balls)

At the North end, I was searching up authentic Italian restaurant and this spot popped up on my searches. I had to check it out because I can tell this must be an authentic Italian restaurant based on photos I saw. Indeed, Antico Pasta has to be a very authenic spot in

Boston. They have been in business for almost 20 years and the food that was presented felt like Italian home cooking. Their dishes bring me back to when I visited Italy when I was younger. The arancini are basically Italian stuffed rice balls that are so cheesey and addicting. You have a nice outer dough that has been baked and a nice oozy cheese inside with a nice amount of rice filling. These are the must when you come. I also loved their Fusili Al tegamino which is an eggplant dish with cheese and pasta. It was absolutely authenic as you can taste the fresh eggplant, pasta, and the mild cheese that was in the dish. If you want real deal Italian food, check this place out at the North end,


6. Taiyaki NYC- Boston

Photo: Vanilla ice cream with a unicorn


This ice cream spot has been on my list for YEARS!!!!!! I was going to get it when it was in NYC, but I didn’t have the time. Taiyaki NYC is known for these cute ice creams with these waffle fish cones called taiyaki. As the business grew, they started to open in to other locations in NY and in Boston and Miami as well. They also started to incorporate other desserts as well like Japanese fluffy pancakes. I went to the one in Boston in Seaport and I loved the cute design of the unicorn ice cream. The ice cream tasted creamy and soft. This is a must whenever you come to NYC, Miami, or Boston. At least check it out once so you can get this experience.


7. . Flour Bakery and Cafe

Photo: Pastries at Flour Bakery and Cafe


This bakery was actually next to the hotel my family and I stayed in. I heard this was one of the top bakeries in Boston, so you know I have to check it out. There are a variety of pastries, savor treats, and of course, coffee, and tea. I remembered getting their banana bread and it tasted very sweet and tender. The bread was firm but tender and that banana flavor was a home run for me. No wonder why this is one of the top bakery spots because the pastries, food, coffee, and tea were home runs. This is a MUST-CHECK out bakery in Boston.


36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page